Watch out: banks will remain closed for 17 days in November


Nagpur: Bank customers could find themselves in the dock as banks will remain closed for a total of 17 days in November – 11 according to Reserve Bank of India (RBI) holiday calendar listing and remaining days are those of the weekends. However, online banking will continue to function.

The RBI has placed its public holidays in three brackets: holidays under the Negotiable Instruments Act; Public holiday under the Tradable Instruments Act and real-time gross settlement holiday; and the closing of bank accounts. However, it should be noted that public holidays vary by state and are not observed by all banking companies either. Public holidays also depend on festivals observed in specific states or notification of specific occasions in those states.
A detailed list of public holidays falling in November 2021:
• Kannada Rajyostsava / Kut: November 1st
• Naraka Chaturdashi: November 3
• Diwali Amavasaya (Laxmi Pujan) / Deepavali / Kali Puja: November 4
• Diwali (Bali Pratipada) / Vikram Samvant New Year / Govardhan Pooja: November 5
• Bhai Duj / Chitragupt Jayanti / Laxmi Puja / Deepawali / Ningol Chakkouba: November 6
• Chhath Puja // Surya Pashti Dala Chhath (Sayan Ardhya): November 10
• Chhath Puja: November 11
• Wangala Festival: November 12
• Guru Nanak Jayanti / Kartik Purnima: November 19
• Kanakadasa Jayanti: November 22
• Seng Kutsnem: November 23
Except for the above holidays, the second and fourth Saturdays, Sundays of the month fall on the following dates:
• November 7 – Sunday
• November 13 – Second Saturday of the month
• November 14 – Sunday
• November 21 – Sunday
• November 27 – Fourth Saturday of the month
• November 28 – Sunday
The public holidays of the mentioned days will be observed in various regions according to the public holidays declared by the state, however for official holidays banks will be closed nationwide.


About Author

Leave A Reply